Cleveland Indians join the dubious ranks of MLB teams no-hit twice in the same season – cleveland.com

CLEVELAND, Ohio — It’s not a list that features a lot of high-powered offenses or memorable lineups, and it’s certainly a list upon which most Major League Baseball franchises would like to avoid. But the Cleveland Indians are now one of 18 major league teams to be no-hit twice in the same season after Friday’s 3-0 loss to Wade Miley and the Cincinnati Reds.

Carlos Rodon’s near-perfect no-hitter for the White Sox on April 14 sparked a stretch of 10 wins in Cleveland’s next 18 games before Friday’s debacle against Cincinnati, The Indians had moved into first place in the American League Central Division, but Miley’s mastery of manager Terry Francona’s lineup exposed flaws in Cleveland’s offense first revealed by Rodon.

While the aftermath of being held hitless for the second time in 23 days is still setting in, it’s worthwhile to note that not every team that’s displayed such futility twice in the same season has taken a nosedive into the cellar. There’s plenty of season remaining to turn things around.

They’re the third team in history to get no-hit twice in their first 31 games, joining the 1884 Pittsburgh Alleghenys of the American Association and the 1917 Chicago White Sox. That White Sox team, led by Shoeless Joe Jackson and Hall of Famer Eddie Collins, went on to win the World Series, 4-2, over the New York Giants.

In 2015, the Mets were no-hit twice, including Max Scherzer’s 17-strikeout gem for the Washington Nationals on Oct. 3, but they nevertheless advanced to the World Series that year where they eventually fell to the Royals, 4-1.

Other clubs, including the Dodgers and Rays, have gone on to win their divisions in the same season that they were no-hit twice, but in both of those cases the clubs lost in the division series round of the playoffs.

The list of teams that has come up empty in the hit column twice in the same season, per Sarah Langs of MLB.com, includes:

Team Year Record Finish Postseason
Cleveland Indians 2021 17-14
Seattle Mariners 2019 68-94 5th in AL West
New York Mets 2015 90-72 1st in NL East Lost WS
Los Angeles Dodgers 2015 92-70 1st in NL West Lost NLDS
Tampa Bay Rays 2010 96-66 1st in AL East Lost ALDS
San Diego Padres 2001 79-83 4th in NL West
Colorado Rockies 1996 83-79 3rd in NL West
California Angels 1977 74-88 5th in AL West
Detroit Tigers 1973 85-77 3rd in AL East
Cincinnati Reds 1971 79-83 4th in NL West
Detroit Tigers 1967 91-71 2nd in AL
Chicago Cubs 1965 72-90 8th in NL
Philadelphia Phillies 1960 59-95 8th in NL
Philadelphia Athletics 1923 69-83 6th in AL
Chicago White Sox 1917 100-54 1st in AL Won WS
Boston Beaneaters 1898 102-47 1st in NL
Providence Grays 1885 53-57 4th in NL
Pittsburgh Alleghenys 1884 30-78 11th in Amer. Assn.

Cleveland has been no-hit 15 times in franchise history, tying the Orioles for the fourth-most no-hitters thrown against in major league history. The club has been no-hit twice as the Blues, twice as the Naps and 11 times as the Indians.

Only the Giants (16), Braves (17) and Phillies and Dodgers (19 each) have been no-hit more than Cleveland.

No team has ever been no-hit three times in the same season.

Indians Mask Affiliate Promo 2020

New Indians face masks for sale: Here’s where you can buy Cleveland Indians-themed face coverings for coronavirus protection, including a single mask ($14.99) and a 3-pack ($24.99). All MLB proceeds donated to charity.

More Indians coverage

Indians no-hit for second time this season; this time it’s Reds’ Wade Miley

A team of extremes tries to explain a second no-hit defeat

Is it a good thing that Francona rejected ejection? Hey, Hoynsie

Defense without borders and three other things

Roberto Perez has surgery on fractured finger

Should the Indians consider adding Albert Pujols? Podcast

Indians-Reds series preview, pitching matchups

On road knowledge, balks and 3 other things

McKenzie, Rosario star as Indians complete four-game sweep

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *